19
Jun
09

Jackie Tonawanda funeral arrangements

Jackie Tonawanda

Jackie Tonawanda

Jackie Tonawanda, the popular and well-known female boxer, dubbed “the Female Ali” from the 1960s and 1970s, died June 9, 2009, at Harlem’s Mount Sinai Hospital from colon cancer.

Born Jackie Garrett in New York on Sept. 4, 1933, Ms. Tonawanda was formerly of Groton and New London. She previously worked at both Pfizer Inc. and Electric Boat in Groton. A well-known figure in the boxing and martial arts community and considered a pioneer of women’s boxing, Ms. Tonawanda sued the state of New York to be granted a boxing license in 1975, a legal battle she eventually won, becoming the first woman to be granted a license to box in New York state.

Her funeral arrangements are as follows: Viewing will be from 3 to 9 p.m. on Friday, June 19, at Owens Funeral Home, 216 Lenox Ave., 121st St., in New York. Her funeral will be at 10 a.m. Saturday, June 20, at First Bethel AME Church, 60 West 32nd St., Lenox Avenue and 5th Street, New York, N.Y., 10027, phone number (212) 862-0100.

17 Responses to “Jackie Tonawanda funeral arrangements”


  1. 2009/07/02 at 4:40

    rest in peace aunt jean i will always love you and i will miss you dearly

  2. 2 JOE
    2009/08/10 at 4:40

    Jackie, we love you, legend…

  3. 2013/04/22 at 4:40

    I like the helpful info you provide in your articles. I will bookmark
    your weblog and check again here regularly. I am quite certain I
    will learn a lot of new stuff right here! Good luck for the
    next!

  4. 2013/04/29 at 4:40

    obviously like your web site but you need to take a look at the spelling on quite a few of your posts.
    A number of them are rife with spelling problems and I find
    it very troublesome to tell the reality on the other hand
    I will definitely come again again.

  5. 2013/05/01 at 4:40

    I like what you guys are up too. This kind of clever
    work and coverage! Keep up the superb works guys I’ve you guys to our blogroll.

  6. 2013/05/12 at 4:40

    You’ve made some decent points there. I checked on the internet to learn more about the issue and found most people will go along with your views on this site.

  7. 2013/05/12 at 4:40

    I am really glad to read this weblog posts which
    carries lots of helpful data, thanks for providing these
    kinds of statistics.

  8. 2013/05/18 at 4:40

    Hi there, after reading this amazing piece of writing i am as well happy to share my knowledge here with mates.

  9. 2013/05/20 at 4:40

    It’s remarkable in support of me to have a website, which is helpful for my know-how. thanks admin

  10. 2013/05/24 at 4:40

    Howdy! I know this is somewhat off topic but I was
    wondering if you knew where I could get a captcha plugin for my comment form?
    I’m using the same blog platform as yours and I’m having difficulty finding one?
    Thanks a lot!

  11. 2013/05/28 at 4:40

    Hey! I just wanted to ask if you ever have any problems with hackers?
    My last blog (wordpress) was hacked and I ended up losing many months
    of hard work due to no back up. Do you have any solutions to stop hackers?

  12. 2013/06/18 at 4:40

    I always spent my half an hour to read this webpage’s articles everyday along with a mug of coffee.

  13. 2013/06/22 at 4:40

    Quality posts is the main to interest the people to
    pay a quick visit the site, that’s what this web site is providing.

  14. 2013/06/22 at 4:40

    Quality content is the crucial to attract the people to pay a quick visit the website, that’s what this site is providing.

  15. 2013/07/06 at 4:40

    You actually make it appear really easy together with your presentation however I find
    this topic to be really one thing that I think I’d never understand. It seems too complicated and extremely vast for me. I am looking forward for your subsequent publish, I will attempt to get the grasp of it!


Leave a Reply

Our Boxing Memorabilia Site

www.substancecollectables.com Autographed Boxing Gloves, Boxing Trunks, Boxing Robes, Fight Pictures, Fight Posters, Championship Title Belts and More....

A Piece of Boxing History!

Pages

Mayweather Glove Sale!

Autographed Boxing Gloves

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6 other followers

Floyd Mayweather Jr. Glove Sale $179.99

Follow us on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Blog Stats

  • 62,891 hits

FaceBook Boxing Group


