31
May
10

Carl Froch rules out fighting Arthur Abraham in Germany

Carl Froch
Froch’s defeat against Mikkel Kessler in April was the first of his career

 

Former world champion Carl Froch is refusing to travel to Germany for his next fight against Arthur Abraham.

The Nottingham fighter, 32, lost his WBC super-middleweight title on points to the Dane Mikkel Kessler in April.

But he fears fighting on Abraham’s home patch in Germany would not help him get a decision, admitting: “Anywhere east of Nottingham it’s not happening!

“There’s a decent amount offered to get me there. But I’m too cute for that,” he told BBC Radio Nottingham.

“That might sound ridiculous because, if they offer you an obscene amount of money, maybe I should just go out there.

“But there won’t be an obscene amount of money.”

Froch won his title against Jean Pascal in Nottingham in December 2008, before successful defences against Jermain Taylor and Andre Dirrell in the USA and his home city respectively.But he still feels hard done by, after losing to Kessler in Herning.

“After losing my belt to Kessler in Denmark in a fight I feel I won, and didn’t even come close to winning on the judges’ scorecards, there’s no way I’m going to put myself in that position again.

“My team and my promoter shouldn’t want to put me in that position either,” he added.

Froch needs to beat Abraham to progress to the semi-finals of the Super Six World Boxing Classic.

“In Denmark or Germany, or anywhere east of Nottingham, I’m not going to be in a position where I can win the fight on points.

“I put myself in that position once, and lost my world title. So the fight is in Nottingham or it’s on neutral territory – in America or maybe Canada.”

Froch is spending a lot of time at home in Nottingham at the moment, with girlfriend Rachael, awaiting the birth of their first son next month.

He is also recovering from the eye and ear injuries sustained in the build-up to the Kessler fight, but insists that they do not trouble him at the moment.

“I’m not going to be ready to box in August,” he added. “I’m not 100% sure I’m going to be ready to box on September 11, another date which has been pencilled in.

“Late September or early October would be an ideal date because that gives me my usual three months of training camp.

“We’re working hard to get the fight in Nottingham, and I’m confident that it can happen.”

www.SubstanceCollectables.com the above 25% OFF coupon.  As part of Substance Collectable’s extended Memorial Day Sale, consumers receive 25% OFF their entire purchase of $125 or more, online or in-store.  Some restrictions may apply. 
TO USE ONLINE: Simply enter code MEMDAYSALE2010 at checkout.
TO USE IN-STORES: Print the above coupon and bring it with you when you shop at Substance Collectables. 
Offer expires June 30, 2010.
 

0 Responses to “Carl Froch rules out fighting Arthur Abraham in Germany”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Our Boxing Memorabilia Site

www.substancecollectables.com Autographed Boxing Gloves, Boxing Trunks, Boxing Robes, Fight Pictures, Fight Posters, Championship Title Belts and More....

A Piece of Boxing History!

Pages

Mayweather Glove Sale!

Autographed Boxing Gloves

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6 other followers

Floyd Mayweather Jr. Glove Sale $179.99

Follow us on Twitter

Blog Stats

  • 63,033 hits

FaceBook Boxing Group


